Missing Emails in Shared Mailboxes: Recovery Help Needed

I encountered a frightening issue today while using the new Outlook version in Windows 11. I dragged and dropped some messages from my personal inbox to a Shared Mailbox inbox, but they vanished from both places.

After searching everywhere, I realized the messages were inaccessible from both the Outlook client and Outlook on the web. To recover them, I had to run a Content Search in the eDiscovery portal. However, as a Global Administrator, I needed to add specific roles to access the results.

I added the necessary roles, including “Compliance Administrator”, “Security Administrator”, and “Compliance Data Administrator” in the Entra ID portal. Then, within the eDiscovery portal, I added myself as an eDiscovery Manager and eDiscovery Administrator.

Next, I followed the steps from a Microsoft forum post: https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/msoffice/forum/all/search-only-the-recoverable-items-folder-of-a-user/c56ec6a1-d3ca-4a7c-bed3-c7f9e03e224a. Note that the provided code has minor bugs and requires review, adding semi-colons to the end of lines, especially in the foreach loop of the Powershell script.

The script looks up folder IDs for deletions, purges, holds, etc. for a specific mailbox, generating a CSV output. The “purges” ID is used to initiate a content search in the eDiscovery portal. The search results can be exported as a PST file, which can be accessed using the old Outlook version.

I successfully recovered the items by moving them into the Shared Mailbox from the old Outlook version. Be warned: do not use the new Outlook version for moves into Shared Mailboxes until this bug is fixed

This is a high-priority bug that needs to be addressed by Microsoft developers. Millions of users will benefit from its resolution.

Category: Outlook
Topic: Missing Emails in Shared Mailboxes: Recovery Help Needed