Latest Windows Updates: Whats New?

2024-06 Cumulative Update Preview for Windows 11 Version 23H2 for x64-based Systems (KB5039302)

Has anyone else had issues with this update, where it downloads but fails to install, leaving no solution to resolve the problem?

Hey there, fellow Windows 11 user I’ve got some experience with this update, and I’m happy to help you troubleshoot the issue.

First, let’s try to understand what’s going on. The error you’re experiencing is quite common, especially with preview updates. It’s possible that the update is conflicting with another program or service running on your system.

Here are some steps to help you resolve the issue:

1. Restart your PC: Sometimes, a simple reboot can resolve the issue. Make sure you save any open work and restart your PC.

2. Disable any third-party antivirus software: Antivirus programs can interfere with Windows updates. Try disabling them temporarily and see if the update installs successfully.

3. Run the Windows Update Troubleshooter: This built-in tool can help identify and fix common update issues. You can find it in Settings > Update & Security > Troubleshoot.

4. Check for corrupted system files: Corrupted system files can cause update issues. Run the System File Checker (SFC) tool to scan and repair any corrupted files. Open Command Prompt as an administrator and run the following command: sfc /scannow

5. Try a clean boot: A clean boot can help you identify if a third-party program is causing the issue. Press the Windows key + R, type msconfig, and hit Enter. In the System Configuration window, go to the Services tab and check the box to hide all Microsoft services. Then, disable all other services and restart your PC.

6. Manually download the update: If all else fails, you can try manually downloading the update from the Microsoft Update Catalog. Make sure you download the correct version (KB5039302) for your system architecture (x64-based Systems).