Bing Web Page Cache Duration: How Long Does It Last?

As a wiki website editor, I frequently encounter the issue of invalid reference materials. Since a certain web archiving tool is not accessible in China, I'm considering using cached web pages from a search engine as an alternative. I'd like to know how long these cached pages are retained.

Hi there, fellow wiki editor. If you’re looking into using cached web pages from a search engine, I can help you figure out how long they are retained.

The duration of web page cache varies among search engines. When it comes to Bing, the cache life seems to be relatively inconsistent and may vary depending on the website’s rules. However, based on my research and experiments, here’s what you might expect from Bing’s cache:

Typical Cache Lifespan:

• 1-3 days: This is the standard duration for most cached pages. They can disappear from Bing’s cache within a few days, especially if the website is frequently updated.
  • 1-2 weeks: Some cached pages can survive for a week or more if the website isn’t updated frequently.

Factors Influencing Cache Lifespan:

1. Website Rules: Following robots.txt or providing guidelines on page crawling, some websites can control how search engines cache their content, leading to shorter or longer cache durations.
  2. Page Popularity: Bing might retain cached pages of frequently viewed websites for longer periods, ensuring that users can still access the content even if it’s temporarily unavailable.
  3. Link Rotation: Websites with dynamic content or frequently rotated content might see their cache cleared faster.
  4. Data Refresh: Bing might initiate a major data refresh periodically, which can wipe out older cached pages.

To help you utilize Bing’s cached pages efficiently, follow these steps:

1. Always check the cache timestamp: Before relying on a cached page, ensure it’s not too old by looking at the timestamp provided by Bing.